print this page

REACH Meeting Schedule

Regular meeting days/times are second Wednesdays from 5:30 - 7:30pm. A light supper is served at the evening meetings. Dates subject to change based on speaker availability.

2014 - 2015

Wednesday, September 7, 2014

Topic: REACH: A World of Opportunity
Location:
Chestnut 4

Come learn about the multitude of global health elective opportunities available through Baystate REACH. Join us as we kick off our 10th year of preparing resident physicians and students to serve low resource communities throughout the world. 


Our first meeting of the year will feature faculty from a variety of disciplines discussing their global health projects in countries such as, Haiti, India, the Navajo Nation, Ecuador, and Honduras. Additionally, we will speak about factors to consider when choosing a global health elective, and the preparations required for an elective abroad.

Wednesday, October 8, 2014 (Cancelled)

Location: Chestnut 5

Wednesday, November 12, 2014

Location: Chestnut 4

Friday, December 10, 2014 (Day and time change)

Topic: Pediatric Intensive Care in Low Resource Countries?
Speaker: Michael Canarie, MD
Location: Mass Mutual 3rd floor conference room

Wednesday, January 14, 2015

Location: Chestnut 5

Wednesday, February 11, 2015 (Cancelled)

Location: Chestnut 5

Wednesday, March 11, 2015

Topic: Inroads to Global Health: A new Fellowship and nutrition in Zumbahua, Ecuador
Speakers: Michael Taylor, MD and Thomas Guggina, MD
Location: Chestnut 5

Monday, April 6, 2015 (Day and time change)

Topic: Anne Fadiman, Author of "The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down"
Location: Chestnut 5

Wednesday, May 13, 2015

Topic: Resident Global Health Reports Part 2
Speakers: Marla Yazzie - Ft. Defiance, Navajo Nation; Joel Miller - Guayaramerin General Hospital, Bolivia; Bobby McDonald - Baylor International Pediatric AIDS Initiative, Tanzania
Location: Chestnut 5

Wednesday, June 10, 2015

Location: Chestnut 5